BLOG TOUR: Author Interview With Amanda Robson

Today, I am so excited to have the author of one of my favourite books from last year stop by and answer some questions. Amanda Robson published Obsession last year and this year she has just published her latest thriller, Guilt. Do check out both books, which are published by Avon Books after reading the interview below. 

Without giving too much away, can you tell us a bit about the book?
Guilt is a psychological thriller. It starts with a stabbing which leaves one twin sister dead and the other accused of the murder. The novel then steps back in time and describes the chain of events that have lead to this. The pivot is a man with a dark and mysterious background.

Where did you get your inspiration for Guilt?
I have always loved mind game thrillers, especially the historical dual timeline novels written by Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine, and the compelling Lollipop Shoes by Joanne Harris. It has been great fun to have a go at writing one myself.

What is the easiest/most difficult part about writing a thriller?
For me the most difficult part is plot precision. The easiest is the pleasure I have writing, when the characters start to develop on the page.

Do you have a particular process when writing? Is there a place you go to write?
I have my own study, my own private place and that is very important to me. I can spread my notes and various drafts around me and know no-one will move or touch anything. I surround myself with photographs of my family, trinkets and memorabilia. It feels like a warm cosy nest.

Generally I get up early, make a coffee and head straight for my study, still wearing my dressing gown. I usually work for several hours before taking a break to shower, dress, walk the dog and ring my Mum. Then I work for a few more hours before having a lunch break. Few more hours, afternoon dog walk. Then if I have any energy left I do a bit more writing until my husband comes home from work. I never work in the evening. By then I need to relax.

I edit as I go. I can’t stand to have a messy first draft, so every morning I tighten the work from the day before. It is amazing how much needs improving after a night’s sleep.

Do you plan your books or do you let the story and the characters develop naturally?
A bit of both! I start with a very careful plan, but the plan is regularly changed because ideas, situations and characters develop as the words flow onto the page.

Are you working on anything right now and can you tell us anything about it?
I am writing my third novel which is due to be published in 2019. It is another psychological thriller which is coming into my mind in a very graphic, televisual way. However right now I am superexcited that Guilt is about to be published.

When not writing is there anything you like to do to clear your head?
There are so many things I like to do, a list as long as your arm. But writing is the best.

Which writers have been an inspiration to you?
As well as Kate Mosse, Barbara Erskine and Joanne Harris who I mentioned in the second question, I would list Jodi Piccoult and John Updike. Jodi Piccoult, as she is so imaginative and often writes in the first person, as I have decided to do. John Updike because he wrote in a very detailed ‘in the moment’ style which I greatly admire.

If you were stranded on a desert island what five things would you want with you?
My family obviously! I guess they are not allowed, so I would say five tools to help me make a raft and escape. I wouldn’t survive very well on a desert island.

 

Divider

 

GUILT
Release Date: OUT NOW
Publisher: Avon UK
Genre: Thriller

SYNOPSIS

Your sister. Her secret. The betrayal.

There is no bond greater than blood . . .

When the body of a woman is found stabbed to death, the blame falls to her twin sister. But who killed who? And which one is now the woman behind bars?

Zara and Miranda have always supported each other. But then Zara meets Seb, and everything changes. Handsome charismatic and dangerous, Seb threatens to tear the
sisters’ lives apart – but is he really the one to blame? Or are deeper resentments simmering beneath the surface that the sisters must face up to?

As the sisters’ relationship is stretched to the brink, a traumatic incident in Seb’s past begins to rear its head and soon all three are locked in a psychological battle that will leave someone dead. The question is, who?

Claustrophobic and compelling, Amanda Robson is back in a knock-out thriller perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Paula Hawkins.

BUY LINKS
AMAZON UK |  WATERSTONES | BOOK DEPOSITORY

Divider

ABOUT AMANDA ROBSON
After graduating, Amanda Robson worked in medical research at The London School of Hygiene and Tropical medicine, and at the Poison’s Unit at Guy’s hospital where she became a co-author of a book on cyanide poisoning.

This has set her in good stead for writing her debut novel, Obsession, a dark and twisted tale about love affairs gone wrong.

Amanda attended the Faber Academy writing course in 2011, and now writes from home full time. She lives in London and Wales, with her lawyer husband, one–eyed dog and unfriendly cat. Her two sons, also lawyers, have more or less, fled the nest.

AMANDA ROBSON ONLINE
GOODREADS | TWITTER | WEBSITE

What do you think of this post?
  • Awesome 
  • Interesting 
  • Useful 
  • Boring 
  • Sucks 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.