AUTHOR GUEST POST: Make-Up Through The Ages by Fiona Gibson

Today, Contemporary Fiction/”Chick-Lit” Author Fiona Gibson talks about her long standing relationship with Make-Up. If you live in the UK, you will no doubt find some really nostalgic memories. So, please give her a warm welcome and be sure to check out her latest release The Woman Who Met Her Match, which is out now on ebook and Paperback and published by Avon UK. 

Divider

MAKE UP THROUGH THE AGES by Fiona Gibson

I adore make-up. Ever since I got my hands on a Miners eye shadow quartet from Woollies at age 15, I’ve loved how it can totally alter the way you look and feel. That’s why I decided to work in a make-up theme when I started writing my new novel, The Woman Who Met Her Match. Lorrie, my main character, is one of those women who tries to coax you to sit on the stool at their beauty counter in a department store. I’m quite fascinated by those counter ladies – how some are so charming, so persuasive you simply can’t resist, whereas others – thankfully a rarity these days – virtually accost you and tie to to the chair.

In fact, I’m usually not adverse to having some new product dabbed on my face, even in the middle of a busy branch of John Lewis on a Saturday afternoon. When I was younger, I’d have found it mortifying, but now it’s quite a treat.

The way I do my face has obviously too. Just a teen when I started, I’m now 52 with a crazy amount of products stashed in my dressing table drawer, and an inability to stop buying new stuff (‘It was on special offer – honest!’). Here’s a quick summary of my life-long love affair with make-up…

Teens… It was all about Rimmel, Boots 17 and Miners – cheap and cheerful brands to spend our pocket money on. My friends and I would cluster around the counters in Boots, trying stuff out. Those roll-on clear lip glosses were a big draw; in the throes of a crush on some boy, I chose a chocolate-flavoured version. Plotting and sniggering, my friend Karen and I decided that I should apply the goo at the next local disco and ask said boy if he would like to kiss me. In the event, I bottled out. But the roll-on gloss remained a firm favourite throughout my teenage years.

Twenties… Bright red lips and heavy-handed stripes of blush – welcome to the eighties. I’d left home, and was working on teen mag Jackie in Dundee, then Just Seventeen in London. In fact my first job on Just Seventeen was Beauty Editor, which entailed writing about make-up and being festooned with tons of free products. My make-up heroes were Yazz, Madonna and Bananarama. Eye make-up was bright and brash, nails neon – we were like children let loose with a palette of paints. Getting ready had never been so much fun.

Thirties… My early motherhood years when, despite my vow to always wear lipstick on the school run, I was often lucky to be able to drag a comb through my hair. When my twin boys and daughter were little, make-up was reserved for nights out – and seemed all the more special for it. After a day spent running around in the park with the kids, it felt delightfully grown-up to extract my make-up bag from its secret location (away from pilfering little fingers) and put on my grown-up face.

Forties and fifties… While you might assume there’d be a desire to ramp up the make-up with every passing year, I’ve found the opposite is true – I’d rather go easy than look over-done. My 17 year-old daughter acts as handy barometer if I’m in two minds about liquid eye liner or whether a sparkly navy blue shadow is too much. Certain trends are definitely for her generation, not mine: eg, those full-on false lashes and contouring (in fact, is contouring really for anyone?). However, I have fallen back in love with red lipstick, which I hadn’t worn since the eighties. An in-store Chanel consultant persuaded me to give it a whirl – and I loved it. A bold pop of red, to lift the spirits on an otherwise grey day? That’s the magical effect of make-up.

Divider

THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH
Release Date:
OUT NOW!!
Published by: Avon UK
Genre: Contemporary Fiction/ Chick Lit

What if your first love came back on the scene . . . 30 years later?

After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her forties, but she’s got a good job, wonderful children and she’s happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough.

That is, until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her – after thirty years.

But Lorrie is a responsible woman. She can’t exactly run off to Nice with the man who broke her teenage heart . . . can she?

A wonderfully funny novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Joanna Bolouri and Milly Johnson..

BUY LINKS
AMAZON UK EBOOK | AMAZON UK PAPERBACK

 DividerABOUT FIONA GIBSON
Fiona Gibson is an author and journalist. Originally from Yorkshire, she started her writing life at the age of seventeen on Jackie magazine. She is a regular contributor to Red, Sainsbury’s Magazine and the Sunday Herald, and lives with her husband and their three children in Lanarkshire, Scotland.Fiona Gibson is an author and journalist. Originally from Yorkshire, she started her writing life at the age of seventeen on Jackie magazine. She is a regular contributor to Red, Sainsbury’s Magazine and the Sunday Herald, and lives with her husband and their three children in Lanarkshire, Scotland.

WEBSITE | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

Most People think this post is Interesting!
What do you think of this post?
  • Awesome 
  • Interesting 
  • Useful 
  • Boring 
  • Sucks 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *